Korea · Life

Where I’ve been

One of my goals of 2019 was to be more committed to this blog. I also wanted to make Youtube videos.

Well…here we are 5 months later and this is my first post since then.

No surprise.

However, a lot has happened:

  • I quit learning Japanese and Hanja through Kumon
  • My husband got drafted into the army and had to do his military training for a month leaving me by myself.
  • I got my hair cut for the first time in about 3 / 4 years. It used to be down to my hips and now it’s above my shoulders.
  • My puppy turned 1 year old!
  • I finished watching Game of Thrones and was so unimpressed with the ending I went to the library, made a library card and took out the first Game of Thrones book to read!

Let’s talk about YouTube first:

I haven’t stopped making videos however it’s been a month or two since my last upload (around the same time my husband went to the army). I have a video already recorded but now I’m debating whether I should upload it anyway.

Let’s be real: There are so many Youtubers in Korea doing the same types of videos, I feel like the market is a little saturated right now with so many foreigners making videos (mostly about Seoul) either in English or Korean. My husband and I had very different views about the direction we wanted the channel to go, e.g. should we target Korean people or foreigners interested in Korea? Should we focus on our relationship as an international couple or just not put so much focus on it? etc. Eventually these discussions took a toll on our channel and our relationship and I decided to take a break from it all.

I’m sure you’ve all seen a family Youtube channel who eventually splits up because of the pressure of Youtube. I didn’t want to be one of those channels. Making and editing videos is HARD and it takes up a large part of your day just editing. Need subtitles? Say goodbye to your whole day because that takes HOURS.

When it comes to video material, I envy those people living in Seoul because there’s so much to see and do and they’re only a subway/bus ride away. However, in my small city once you’ve been to the centre of town that’s it. The blog post I made back in January about my city is pretty much all you can do. There are two manhwa cafes, some screen baseball places and one archery cafe. Most foreigners in the town either stay at home / travel elsewhere / travel to Seoul or a bigger city every week. Working during the week and then spending your free 2 days off constantly travelling, filming and then having 1 day to edit just so you can upload every week is just impractical.

If my working hours were more forgiving maybe I would have the energy to do that every week. Or maybe I’m just making excuses. Is it just me who thinks this way? Or am I just complaining? I feel like I’m complaining a bit haha.

Now, let’s talk about the future of this blog.

With Summer’s arrival, my skin has decided that it wants to break out and reject the skincare which I only bought about 2/3 months before. I’ve done some research and I’m pretty sure I have fungal acne. I had no idea it was a real problem to so many people! Also, people who live in hot and humid climates tend to get it. Scotland and Korea could not be any more different when it comes to climate! It all makes so much sense. So I have done a lot of research and today I bought a few skincare products that are fungal acne ( Malassezia Folliculitis) friendly. I’m going to be making a post about it this week and hopefully they help with this problem!

In the last few months I’ve been really interested in learning Spanish. I took a beginner class in high school for 1 year but never had the chance to go back to Spain to practice any of it. Then I just forgot about it. I actually find it so fun to learn Spanish because of how similar the words are between Spanish and English. But then I start to feel guilty that I haven’t been learning Korean. It’s like a dilemma in my mind where I guilt myself for studying something that isn’t Korean and then I just don’t do either of them.

I’m getting really burned out with my job these days, I’m not getting enough sleep, and I just have no energy at all. I’m hoping once I get all these feelings out in the open I can then use this feeling to actually make a change. I’m 100% a night person which sucks because finishing my work at 11pm every night really throws off my motivation to study when I come home! I need to find a routine that allows me to get enough sleep, study and keep up with my job. Hopefully, there’s someone out there who knows what I’m feeling and can relate to how I feel!

This was a very long come back post. I have more to say but I think I’ll leave it for a future post. I hope everyone has an amazing week!

Leave a comment