Life

My thoughts about 2014

It’s only the 8th of January but a lot of things have happened already. I’m currently studying for my exams which are in 2 weeks. It’s my first set of exams at university so I’m really nervous and don’t know what to expect.

I’ve been thinking about the future a lot these last few days. My original plan for 2014 was to take the TOPIK exam but if you click here you can read all about why i’m not going to anymore.

In September I’ll be in my 3rd year of university where I have to choose to either go abroad to study for a semester or do an internship.  Ever since high school I really wanted to go abroad to study but thinking about it realistically I’m probably better off doing the internship. Reasons? Well…

1) I have no job to pay for going abroad.  I am currently looking for a job but even if I get one now I won’t have enough money to pay for the accommodation.
2) I can only go to Europe (there are 2 universities in America but that’s too expensive for the flight and accommodation) and I’m not really interested in Europe. I thought Germany would be good because I studied German in high school but I’ve forgot most of it now.
3) My boyfriend and I were planning on moving in together this year which won’t be cheap. If I moved abroad then I’d be leaving him to pay the rent by himself which is unfair and not possible.

Whereas if I did an internship I would get paid and gain experience working which will hopefully get me a job after I graduate. It seems more logical to me and I can also choose to stay where I am so I can still move into a flat with my boyfriend.  I’m not sure if there are any Korean based companies here in Scotland but any experience is good for me.

Instead of taking the TOPIK exam this year I think I’ll take Korean classes instead. I did want to start in January but I forgot I had exams and I need every second I can get to study. I do plan on starting lessons this year so I will work towards that.

Also, I plan to go back to Korea in 2015. I’m not sure whether to go as a holiday or to go there to study for a few months. It just depends on money. My boyfriend really misses home and is quite sad he won’t be able to go back this year so we’ve made plans to go in 2015. Therefore I’ve been looking for jobs so I can start saving so I can actually book tickets.

I have high hopes for 2014. I just need to put in the effort to make everything I want happen.

Leave a comment